Project Speed World Design.

The task that I have chosen to complete is World Design. During this task I looked at other 2D games, I have talked about this during my other blog post talking about Project Speed, my task and my research I undertook to get a basic idea of other 16-Bit.

Recently I had finished my set of city background pixel art pieces, during the creation of these pieces in asked my team mate Harri to help me by creating extra assets to add to the world, he had made things like vents, crates, radio towers and roof access points. Radio tower.pngcrate.pngVent 1.png These are a few of the assets that Harri had created to help me with the environment.

Once I had finished all three pieces of background that we needed I sent them to Sam, he then imported them into his Unreal project which has all of the custom code needed to get the game to work. These are the finished pieces.
Building templates 1.png

In the original pieces I had made the sky looked very odd when I combined them together, to fix this I created a better sky background to go on every city template.
sky done.png
To create this I used the gradient tool on Photoshop to create to gradients one from the blue colour and one from the orange colour, I then blended these by removing the white ends and blending them with the Hard Light layer mode. This created a nice blend from the dark orange to the blue in the night.

Untitled-1.png
Once I had gotten the sky’s colour right I added little pixel like stars, reduced the opacity and added motion blur to make them look further away. I was extremely happy with my work on the background and I would gladly do Environment and Background Design again, or even take a career path including it.

Leave a comment